top of page

The Real About Me

Alright, so this is the real about me. I am an artist.

I like a lot of different types of art, and love to see works in person.

I study art.

I buy art books.

I took art lessons as a child and painted an apple tree and praying hands.

I was not good at the piano, but when handed a coloring book made it into a masterpiece of different art works even at the age of 3 or 4.

I would not stop coloring until every page was done, and I tried out every color in the box and every way of coloring.

I colored as light as possible, I colored as hard as possible, and I often outlined the illustrations in hard black before coloring the objects in.

I still do that, just on canvas and panel board and paper.

And the drawings are invisible to others and can only be seen if I color them in.

I like to copy the greats at times, exactly from pictures, and I will post the heck out of those paintings. I do not find shame in trying a technique, and I do not find shame in trying to do something another artist has done better than I can.

I know my paintings are not for everyone.

I paint because I have to, I sell them because I am not a hoarder.

I try to keep many of the paintings that have gone on to inspire larger works priced reasonable, with the larger piece bringing a larger selling price. This allows me to reach a wider audience, and I think it quite pretentious to price myself out of the affordability of my own work.

I want people to buy original and innovative works of art, and I try as much as possible to facilitate that with many of the pieces I produce. If I am attached to a work that I make, I keep it. Over the last 20 years I have kept very few of the thousands of paintings I made, but it took the other 999 for me to get the ones I own, and I am desperately attached to all of these.

The others I love as well, however, I am hoping by making this website I will find art loving individuals who can give them a good home and get attached so desperately to their own paintings, like I have the ones I proudly display in my own house.

Enjoy the art and feel free to contact me for further details, photos, or general information about any of the work posted for sale.

JT


bottom of page